Skip to content

Seventies Chic

March 13, 2011

The fashion world currently seems obsessed with reviving the “seventies chic” look. (I can only assume this means the best of the seventies – no polyester leisure suits allowed!) While I’m glad we’re done with the eighties, I haven’t been interested in most of the seventies references I’ve seen so far. As a kid in elementary school, I was decked out head to toe in pink paisley off-the-shoulder tops, bell bottoms, crocheted blouses, and clogs (all courtesy of The Limited Too and Gap Kids, of course), I haven’t been very interested in reliving that particular period of fashion missteps. But Stuff Boston‘s recent editorial was pitch perfect. Here are my favorite seventies-inspired images:

Source: Stuff Boston Magazine, 3/8/11 – 3/21/11.

Editor-in-Chief Erica Corsano incorporated some of my favorite trends for spring – color blocking, bold prints, halters, coral lipstick, and silk – into this colorful, playful editorial. Here’s my own version of the editorial:

'70sWith gems like these (I’m in love with the color blocked Nine West sandals), seventies chic suddenly seems a lot less scary. What do you think of this trend?

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:26 am

    It’s a lot easier to be nostalgic about 70s style if you forget about polyester and rayon, huckapoo shirts, platform shoes (for men), plaid bell-bottoms, leisure suits, crocheted belted sweaters, … I was there, it was bad.

  2. March 15, 2011 8:36 pm

    I’m actually really into this trend for the spring, especially the colorblocking aspect. It seems I’m always a fan of bright colors come springtime, just to get out of my drab winter wardrobe. I’m also quite guilty of wearing all-black, so it feels good to break that habit. These are gorgeous photos, too — I really love her hair and makeup, and her eyes look particularly stunning.

    -Halie

  3. March 16, 2011 3:43 pm

    Yes please to this editorial! Love that pink halter dress you choose as well.

  4. March 18, 2011 2:05 pm

    I can’t seem to figure out this trend… I feel like this trend is really vague, which I like. I like how it’s broken up into smaller trends – color block, coral, etc. But overall I like it. I also like (I seem to be saying ‘like’ a lot) the pieces that you picked! :]

    Love, Cass

  5. Ariel Shira permalink
    March 20, 2011 11:09 pm

    Love the neckline on the blue shirt and the orange shorts! Also, I love the Stuff Boston’s interpretation of seventies fashion; It definitely showcases the better trends from the decade!

    xoxo Ariel

Leave a Reply

