Skip to content

Feeling Uninspired

March 28, 2011

I think I hit a rut this morning. I’ve been feeling sick for the past week and more or less living in leggings and my cozy NYU sweatshirt. On the rare occasions I left the house, I got “dressed up” and upgraded to a pair of faded denim leggings and an oversized cashmere sweater.

This morning, I went through outfit after outfit, but nothing seemed to work. I originally tried getting out of my leggings rut and pulled on a pair of lace tights, but what could I pair them with? A simple black skirt didn’t feel right, either. Nothing in my drawer full of tops sparked a cohesive outfit. All my dresses were too summery or too short or too wrong. Confronted with the classic problem of a closet full of clothing but having nothing to wear, I threw on another variation of what I’ve been wearing all weekend, and left the house.

At school, my appearance spilled over into my mood. I felt completely apathetic towards my school work. I’ve recognized in the past that the right outfit can boost my spirits, attitude, and even my productivity, but now, I’ve come to the unfortunate conclusion that the phenomenon works the other way, too.

Although my closet is bursting at the seams, my style has evolved more quickly than my wardrobe has. The rainbow-bright cardigans and tights I used to wear just a few years ago now look more natural on Julia than they do on me. (She’s noticed, too – she “borrows” my clothing daily.) Right now, I like the look of an airy blouse paired with skinny jeans and a great pair of shoes. These blouses would fit right in with that aesthetic:

BlousesI would really like to get back onto the fashion bandwagon, if only because it truly does make me happy. How do you find inspiration when you’re not inspired by your own closet anymore?

That said, this is the coolest Internet nugget I’ve seen in a long time – a must see if you admire and want to be those eccentric elderly women you see in grocery stores wearing ankle-length fur capes and red lipstick on Saturday afternoons.

xoxo Hannah
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 1:01 am

    The blogosphere never ceases to inspire me! When I get this feeling, I try and spend a little extra time perusing my favorite blogs because I will often see items similar to what I have worn in a totally new way and be reinvigorated to work in my own closet.

Leave a Reply

