Skip to content

Lookbook: Grown Up (Or Something Like It)

April 4, 2011

Blazer, H&M. Tank, Zara. Skirt, Urban Outfitters. Pumps, Jessica Simpson. Necklaces, handmade (glass), Urban Outfitters (beaded). Bracelet, gift.

I’ve been thinking a lot about age lately. (And, no, it’s not just my chronic fear of getting wrinkles. Moisturize now to prevent them later!) With my eighteenth birthday just around the corner, and graduation just a few weeks after that, I can’t help but wonder where all the time has gone. Between the blazer, leather skirt, red lipstick, and pumps, one might get the impression that I’m somewhat grown up. It’s true, I’m almost old enough to vote, I’m old enough to get into an R-rated movie by myself, and I’m even old enough to drive – although, driving well is another issue.

But I don’t feel old enough to be grown up. I received the silver bracelet I’m wearing in these photos as a ninth birthday gift from my Grandma Rose. I remember the afternoon so well. I felt so lucky when she took me to the jeweler’s and let me choose how I wanted my name embossed into the charm. (I chose italics, the same way I sign off my blog posts today.) I remember when she clasped the bracelet onto my wrist for the first time – but that felt like just a few months ago, not nearly a decade ago. I still feel like a little kid.

I think that’s what I love about fashion: dressing up. On the outside, I can wear red lipstick and move to New York by myself and even have the beginnings of a career. But on the inside, I can still feel like that nine-year-old kid in a jewelry shop with her messy hair piled on top of her head.

xoxo Hannah

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 9:50 pm

    Once again Hannah your post leaves me smiling, reflecting and reminiscing. I love how everytime I click here I know I am getting so much more than clothes- and from a 17 year old at that! Trust me, I am five years ahead of you and I STILL don’t feel ready to be a grown up. I’m hoping it comes with time! :)

    • April 4, 2011 9:50 pm

      Oh woops- I MEANT to say that I really LOVE this chic outfit! The leather skirt looks terrific.

  2. April 5, 2011 8:31 am

    This outfit is so gorgeous! You are so creative and have such a keen eye for style.

  3. April 6, 2011 10:08 am

    You have such great style- and I love this look! I’m with you on the not wanting to grow up thing though. I’m in my junior year of college, and love the idea of an adult future, but my heart isn’t ready for it yet!

  4. April 12, 2011 3:55 pm

    After seeing this post I bought the skirt, and it just arrived! So excited to wear it this weekend!

  5. April 16, 2011 10:23 pm

    Love your style, spirit, talent and pretty much everything about this blog. I am thrilled to have found it and want to congratulate you on a fabulous job!!

    Good luck with school this fall. You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

