Skip to content

Roots and Wings

May 7, 2011

My school’s Senior Banquet was last night. At the risk of sounding cliché, I absolutely adored it. A night of dancing, friends, cocktail dresses, and a slideshow with pictures dating back to kindergarten is right up my alley. My favorite part of the night was spending it with two of my best friends. Emma, Devon, and I have been friends since we were toddlers. Back then, we stumbled around in my mom’s lipstick and high heels. Now, more than fifteen years later, we primped and pampered in our own lipstick and high heels. I’m looking forward to the new experiences and opportunities my summer in Maine and transition to college will bring, but I’m finally starting to appreciate how much I might miss life in Needham. I have so many memories here. Right now, I’m reminded of one of my favorite quotes:

There are two lasting bequests we can give our children. One is roots, the other, wings. – Anonymous

Thanks, Mom and Dad, for giving me both.

xoxo Hannah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    May 7, 2011 6:19 pm

    I believe you’re quoting Hodding Carter :)

  2. May 7, 2011 6:25 pm

    The very end of your senior year is a wonderful time. And I love that quote you shared :)

    Also, I noticed one of your friends is wearing your pink pumps – that’s true friendship.

    • May 7, 2011 9:19 pm

      They’re actually all my shoes. I made them promise to be careful with my babies, and they were! Now THAT’S true friendship – respecting the shoes!

  3. Emily permalink
    May 8, 2011 1:06 am

    you all look so gorgeous! is this your high school’s equivalent of senior prom?

    • May 8, 2011 9:32 am

      Thank you! Senior Banquet is just an informal version of prom – no long dresses, no dates, no limos, etc. Next month is the real deal!

  4. May 10, 2011 11:57 am

    SO cute. you guys all look amazing! love the bright colors with the shoes/dresses :)

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

