Skip to content

Prom Flashback: 1955

May 18, 2011

Over the next few weeks, I’d like to share three generations of family prom photos, from my grandma’s prom in 1955, my mom’s prom in 1982, and my own in 2011. (The final installation will have to wait until after the big night, June 2, to appear here!) I’m interested in prom fashion because it offers girls the opportunity to indulge and express their style. After all, a prom dress is a big purchase, and the photos will last forever – as obviously evidenced by this series!

Today’s photos come from Grandma Eleanor’s senior prom in 1955. Here’s the handsome couple:

And a group shot – they’re the second seated couple from the right:

Aren’t they gorgeous? (Not to mention, after fifty-six years, they’re still together! How many prom couples can say that?) I love my grandma’s dress. I’d wear it in a heartbeat, if the dress was still around today! The style is fairly unusual for the time; although it does have the nipped-in waist and full, tea-length skirt that was popular in the 1950s, you can see that her dress is nothing like her friends’ sweetheart chiffon gowns. She looks so glamorous.

While looking through an old album for these photos, my grandma unearthed another treasure: a three-page letter from a former flame – in French. They were just fifteen! If you can find me a guy my age who would write his girlfriend a French letter today, feel free to send him my way.

Although I would never dream of living in the 1950s – women’s rights have come too far to ever return to that era – looking back on the decade through photos and letters is certainly appealing. I can’t quite say the same about next week’s installment, which will take us to 1982. Stay tuned for early eighties glory next week!

xoxo Hannah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 8:41 pm

    Love this series. So beautiful and elegant, and also so much fun to look back!

  2. May 18, 2011 8:43 pm

    I love this idea!! Thanks for sharing those lovely pictures. I think I was the first woman in my family to go to prom, so I can’t look back to see what my mom and grandma wore before me.

  3. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy permalink
    May 18, 2011 8:53 pm

    I love this post Hannah!!! xoxo

  4. May 18, 2011 9:06 pm

    what a beautiful post!! she looks so glamorous! i know my nana & poppie have been together since their prom too! i’l have to break out her old pictures! can’t wait to see your prom dress :)

  5. May 19, 2011 1:19 am

    Hannah what a creative idea! I adore this dress and would wear it in a heartbeat, too. I guess great style runs in the family!

    You should host some sort of linkup party at the end of this series where readers can share photos of their own prom dresses. Would be fun to see them all!

Leave a Reply

