Skip to content

Garden Party

May 23, 2011

Yesterday, my family gathered together for an early graduation celebration. My mom pulled together a beautiful garden party and – thankfully! – the weather held off just long enough for us to all enjoy it. Julia and Emma took turns documenting the night.

After a cocktail hour filled with lots of hugs and mingling, my mom kicked off the party with a toast. It was sweet and maternal. Thanks, Mom! (And doesn’t she look fabulous in that dress?)

Julia gave a toast next. She incorporated inside jokes that just the two of us understood, audience interaction, a Frank Sinatra sing-along (complete with music!), and props, such as the diary I kept throughout elementary school. She’s such a funny little nugget.

Here I am with my dad. He sometimes calls me his “mini-me” because we look and act so similarly. This is one of my favorite pictures from the night!

Julia’s favorite part of the night was carrying my elementary school diary and reading aloud particularly embarrassing sections. Apparently, I was quite a fan of list-making in 1999 – 2000; she found lists I made enumerating my first grade crushes and reasons why I was annoyed with her. (For the record, one of my crushes was expelled for bringing a knife into school. It was quite the scandal back then.)

Between the dress, the yummy drinks and snacks, and the pops of color from the balloons in the background, this photo reminds me of the Kate Spade “Twirl” ads. Anything I can do that’s Deborah Lloyd-approved is a plus in my book.

Pretty typical. My favorite song, “Dream a Little Dream” by Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald, was playing! When Louis and Ella weren’t singing, we listened to a playlist full of Adele, the Beatles, Frank Sinatra, Ingrid Michaelson, Jack Johnson, Michael Jackson, and Simon and Garfunkel.

Cutting the cake!

With Emma – practically family, anyways – at the end of the party! We have completely opposite styles, but I think she looks beyond adorable in this summery, laidback outfit.

Thanks to everyone who gave feedback on my shopping mission for a graduation dress two months ago. Unfortunately, by the time I picked my favorite dress, it was completely sold out. Luckily, I stumbled across this silk Kate Spade shift just a few days later and fell in love! I’m planning on wearing this to quite a few events in the near future, including my first day at Elle. (Just one thing – the magazine doesn’t quite know I have the job yet.)

I don’t actually graduate for another two weeks, but if the actual ceremony is filled with as much happiness and laughter as the party was, I’ll be a lucky lady!

xoxo Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Martina permalink
    May 24, 2011 9:36 am

    Congrats on graduation Hannah! I wish I could celebrate this end of the year with you and all the 2011 seniors. The dress is perfect, as usual. Miss you :)

  2. May 25, 2011 11:17 pm

    I love these pictures! Your party seems like a wonderful time! Enjoy the end of high school – it’s lovely!

Leave a Reply

