Skip to content

Lookbook: Washington Square Park

November 6, 2011

Sweater, J. Crew. Blouse, Old Navy. Skirt, Urban Outfitters. Tights, Topshop. Boots, Blondo. Ring, street vendor. Nail polish, “Here Today, Aragon Tomorrow” (OPI).

During the admissions process, prospective applicants heard “NYU isn’t for everyone,” over and over again. Instead of a traditional campus, we’re truly in and of the city, sharing Washington Square Park with the rest of the city (and a heavy dose of tourists, too). One of my favorite parts of NYU is that I don’t always feel like a college student – I feel like a New Yorker. While I still study in the library, eat in the dining halls, and sleep in the dorms, I spend my non-class hours in coffee shops, exploring Greenwich Village, and stalking Elizabeth Olsen. (Think I’m kidding on that last one? Think again. And again.)

But when I met up with blogger friend Sarah earlier this week, we decided to stop in Washington Square Park – the closest NYU comes to having a campus – to take blog photos. The park is one of my favorite sights in the city; I’m there daily, if not more often than that! Hanging out on “campus” in my most collegiate attire (preppy collar, cuffs, and pencil skirt à la NYU in leopard print and leather, of course) for a little while reminded me that Student Hannah and New Yorker Hannah can coexist.

That said, as soon as I finish writing this, I’m off to my favorite coffee shop to finish my reading for tomorrow morning’s class…

xoxo Hannah

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 6:03 pm

    Love the skirt!

  2. November 6, 2011 9:05 pm

    You look adorable!! Love the leather/leopard combo. And i totally hope you are referring to The Bean!! I miss it, even if i was only there twice lol.

  3. November 8, 2011 7:04 pm

    Such a quintessential fall outfit! Love the bourgeois ring…very Elizabethan.

  4. November 9, 2011 12:31 pm

    I’m so glad the pictures turned out well!

  5. Concerned Citizen permalink
    February 9, 2012 12:44 am

    I saw a picture of this outfit on google, and after scrolling over your pictures this is the only outfit of yours that I like. EXCEPT FOR THE SHOES. Dear god do not ever wear those boots with that skirt again young lady. Only heels are gonna cut it. And NOT black – please – maybe beige [you can keep the tights if you like] or even a color if you can pull it off, like erm… pink… but you’d have to do something with you hair too. Your hair needs to be bigger. And maybe a bit shorter. But if you don’t dig that, at least put it up in a ‘hipster bun’ or something, or at the very least stop parting it straight down the middle! Lord. I really hate to be mean because you seem like a happy person and that’s cool but I don’t understand why you have a fashion blog when you don’t try very hard. Fashion isn’t about knowing what’s in style and wearing it – it’s about composing outfits in an unusual way and making it look good, while playing on current trends if you like them. The best way to do it is to wear something that you don’t see anybody else wearing, and get artistic. But that can be a lot of work. Whatever, anyway I’ll end this on a nice note. I like your jewelry.

    p.s. don’t wear fur vests over baggy sweaters

Trackbacks

  1. Fordham Prep « Shades of Sarah
  2. Fordham Prep - Shades of Sarah

Leave a Reply

