Skip to content

American Apparel Addiction

June 7, 2010

While I love the idea of throwing on the first thing I see in the morning and running out the door, casually chic with my hair just slightly tousled, “laidback” has never been my thing. (In Gossip Girl terms, I’m a Blair, not a Serena.) The closest I come to looking effortlessly cool is a pair of leggings and my favorite American Apparel sweater, a combination I’ve relegated to the pajamas-or-dance-class-only category.

So while I can’t exactly go for the laidback AA look all the time, I can replicate the understated cool vibe I get from AA’s clothing by staring lovingly at their website for hours. I’ve culled my favorites for you. What do you think?

El Salvador Lace Tee in Black El Salvador, $38.00: I love lace tops, but I don’t yet have a black one. This would be a lovely addition to my wardrobe. Layered over a swimsuit and shorts, this would make an adorable cover-up for the beach this summer. For the fall, it would be perfect with bandage skirts and tights, with a tank underneath for a pop of color and coverage. For $38, I’m seriously considering this one!

Multi-Layered Reversible Petticoat in Ballet Pink, $70.00: While not the most practical of items – and certainly not the most wearable, it’s only fourteen inches from waist to hem! – this petticoat is utterly adorable. Ballerina and princess rolled into one, this skirt is frothy, flirty, and delightful. Imagine pairing it with a black leotard and tights and twirling around a dance studio all day. Perfect, right?

Floppy Wool Hat in Black Wool, $40: Equal parts Audrey Hepburn and The Stylish Wanderer. I doubt I would actually get much use out of the hat, but isn’t it fun to ooh and aah over it online? Window shopping at its finest!

Cotton Spandex Jersey Double U-Neck Dress in Black, $36: If you read fashion blogs as often as I do, it appears that everybody owns this dress. (And for an undeniably good reason.) Of course, this necessitates a try in the dressing room. It could either be incredibly flattering or downright awful. (Too short, too tight, too low… it’s AA, it’s been known to happen!)

Corduroy West Coast Short in Deep Pink, $32: Let me be clear: I need these shorts. They’re pink, they’re corduroy, they’re slightly high-waisted, and they look super flattering. These babies will find a way into my arms soon!

American Apparel is truly fantastic. I only own a sweater and a body-con fold-over skirt, but I’m itching to buy another piece soon. Do the shorts make the cut? Should I give them a go? Comment and let me know which AA piece is your favorite!

xoxo Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 10:08 pm

    American Apparel is super comfortable! Nothing but good things to say about this line!

  2. June 8, 2010 6:16 am

    I love everything you posted, but if I had to choose a favorite, I would go for the el salvador lace top, too cute!

  3. June 8, 2010 9:28 am

    I have never worn anything AA other than tshirts. However the petticoat looks like a great excuse to do pirouettes and other ballet moves in public. haha

Leave a comment