Skip to content

Clinique/Teen Vogue Fresh Faces 2010 Tour

September 15, 2010

Ever since I read an interview with Eva Chen on Her Campus, I’ve been just a little obsessed. As the Beauty and Wellness Director of Teen Vogue, it’s fair to say I have a major career crush. If you’ve ever seen a photo of her, you would share my style crush. If you follow Eva on Twitter, you would see firsthand how passionate she is about beauty and helping girls, hence my current fangirl obsession.

Of course, this little crush of mine intensified by a factor of ten when I actually met Eva in person yesterday.

I met her at the Clinique/Teen Vogue Fresh Faces 2010 Tour at BU. What an amazing event! There was a group of panelists who are in the top of their fields – beauty, PR, and television – who spoke about how to break into the industry, get experience, and their own experiences. A few of my favorite insider tips:

  • Don’t intern your first semester of freshman year. Enjoy that time! You have the rest of your life to intern and work, but you’ll never be able to get those few months back.
  • Remember “show, don’t tell” from fourth grade writing workshop? It’s still true. Don’t just tell your prospective employers that you love fashion, prove it. One of the easiest ways to do so is to start a blog.
  • Be honest, straightforward, and respectful.
  • Be nice to everybody, even (especially!) interns and assistants.
  • Follow your heart and dreams. Find something you love? Stick with it!

After the panel, I headed over to have my makeup and hair done. Clinique did an amazing job! I love the dark plum eyeliner – it’s just the perfect shade to make my eyes pop without looking too overdone for day. I also had my hair styled and my photo taken by a photographer:

Of course, one of the best parts was chatting with Eva! She is really as sweet and inspiring as she is on Twitter. (More so, even!) I can’t imagine putting up with what she does – constant traveling from city to city, shaking hands, meeting new people – on a regular basis, but she seemed genuinely happy to be there. She definitely inspired me to aim high. Next stop: an internship at Teen Vogue? Fingers crossed!

The Clinique event was amazing. Check out http://www.cliniquefreshfaces.com and see if it’s coming to a city near you!

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 6:05 pm

    Okay, so this is awesome. And I’m glad my last comment made your day. I love comments so I definitely get it!

  2. September 15, 2010 6:38 pm

    You are gorgeous. Simply beauuutiful. I am so jealous and so so happy for you!

  3. September 15, 2010 9:04 pm

    Gorgeous pic girl! I wish I could go to the one in DC!

  4. September 16, 2010 9:14 pm

    you look beautiful! & howww amazing that you got to meet Eva; I follow her on twitter and am incredibly inspired by her too! I hope you get the Teen Vogue internship– that would be an awesome experience :)

Leave a comment